I almost scared her to death…


I think I came close to scaring a woman to death yesterday—and I don’t regret it a bit.

I was at work, and went out to get something from my car.  In the distance, I could hear a dog whining.  Being the animal lover that I am, I of course went to investigate.  The dog was in a car that was parked on the street.  He looked so pathetic, almost like a wilted flower.  I could tell he was barely hanging in there.  My heart went out to him immediately.

One window on the car was left slightly open.  I don’t think I could have stuck my little finger through the crack.  When I saw the dog, I saw a red that was so deep it was almost purple!  My blood pressure shot so high that I don’t think they could’ve measured it if I had been hooked up to a blood pressure monitor!  I was livid!  I could hear my heart thumping in my ears, and it sounded like a jackhammer going off.

I thought about calling the police, but I was afraid the dog would die before the police could get there, so I started looking for a rock or something to break the window with.  About that time, the owner of the car came strolling out of a building across the street, idly chatting on her phone.  Once I saw that she was coming to the car, I started yelling—as loudly as I could.  I’m sure she could see the steam coming out of my ears.  The look of horror that came over her face didn’t even register with me at the moment–all I could think of was that poor dog.  “YOU’RE NOT FIT TO OWN A DOG!  OPEN THIS DOOR NOW!  HOW DARE YOU LEAVE THIS PRECIOUS BABY IN THE CAR WHEN IT’S OVER A HUNDRED DEGREES AND THE HUMIDITY IS SO HIGH?  HOW WOULD YOU LIKE IT IF I TIED YOU UP, AND LOCKED YOU IN THIS CAR, WITH NO AIR, AND NO CRACKS IN THE WINDOW?  YOU DESERVE TO BE TREATED LIKE THAT!”

She looked scared to death, and started trying to talk.  “I was just going to be in there a minute…”  I shut her up before she could say anything else.

“IT ONLY TAKES ABOUT TEN MINUTES FOR A DOG TO DIE IN THIS KIND OF TEMPERATURE!  THEIR BRAINS CAN BOIL IN JUST A FEW MINUTES IN TEMPERATURES LIKE THIS.  IF THIS DOG HAD DIED, IT WOULD’VE BEEN MURDER ON YOUR PART!  HOW DARE YOU LEAVE THIS DOG OUT LIKE THIS?!  YOU’RE OLD ENOUGH TO KNOW THAT THINGS ALWAYS TAKE LONGER THAN YOU THINK.  YOU COULD’VE EASILY KILLED THIS POOR BABY.”

“THE RULE IS THIS, IF YOU CANNOT TAKE THE DOG IN WITH YOU WHEREVER YOU GO, YOU DON’T TAKE THE DOG.  YOU LEAVE IT AT HOME.  DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME?!  DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME!  I MEAN IT!   DO NOT EVER LET ME SEE YOU LEAVING THIS DOG IN THE CAR LIKE THIS AGAIN.  I WILL BREAK THE WINDOW OUT, AND TAKE THE DOG AWAY FROM YOU.  YOU’LL NEVER SEE IT AGAIN—EVEN THOUGH YOU DON’T DESERVE TO SEE IT!  I’LL ALSO CALL THE POLICE.  THIS IS ANIMAL CRUELTY, AND YOU CAN GO TO JAIL FOR THAT, AND I HOPE THEY THROW YOU UNDER THE JAIL, AND KEEP YOU THERE FOREVER!  DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME?!”

I was so angry that it took me a long time to calm down.  I fumed most of the afternoon, and wondered if I had done the right thing by letting this lady leave with her dog, although legally I don’t think I had any choice but to let her leave with her dog.

Now that I’ve finally calmed down, I think it’s funny (not funny that she left the dog in the car–funny how I reacted).  I am known as a big teddy bear, and gentle as they come.  I rarely get upset, and yet I was acting like a big grizzly bear.

I would love to know what that lady thought when I tied into her like that.  I’m a 6’ tall man that weighs about 225 pounds.  I had on cowboy boots that made me look taller.  I’m sure my scruffy beard didn’t make me look very gentle either.  It’s a miracle that she didn’t have a heart attack, or call the police on me.  I wouldn’t have had much sympathy if she had had a heart attack.  She deserved it, but I would’ve been up the creek without a paddle if she had called the police on me.

Image

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

